About Us

You‘re not just buying a home inspection – you’re buying years of experience

Superior Services

Founded in St. Clair Shores, MI, Home Inspection Professionals has been providing residential, commercial, investment and new construction inspection services throughout Southeastern Michigan since 2003.

Providing prompt, professional service, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, Home Inspection Professionals prides itself on offering clients personal service from a business owner/inspector with local knowledge, extensive expertise and up-to-date training and certifications.

Photo of Kevin Stripling

Kevin Stripling

As the face of Home Inspection Professionals, President and CEO, Kevin Stripling, brings over a 18 years of experience (including 10,000+ inspections) to the business and his clients. His love of the inspection field extends beyond the standard homes into commercial inspections.

Photo of Chris Finn

Chris Finn

Our clients are well served with the experience of Chris Finn. His background in construction as well as landscaping makes him a perfect fit to the HIP Team. His experience with residential cement procedures including everything from setup and pour to finishing and brickwork, gives him a unique perspective on exterior structures. Chris is a state of Michigan certified Section 8, HUD and MSHDA inspector. Family man and homeowner, Chris appreciates the value of community and is active in providing local safety training programs, CPR and First-Aid as well as event management and personal defense.

Tina McCrillis

While you might catch her retrieving a water sample or running a test to the lab, Office Administrator, Tina McCrillis successfully juggles the many tasks required to keep our company running efficiently on the inside. Her diverse background makes her a perfect fit for the team by managing Accounting, Office Operations and Marketing. You’ll often find her behind the scenes working on our social media presence and supporting our many business partnerships.

Kristen Osaer

Customer Service is the name of her game – Kristen Osaer brings a hearty helping of experience to our staff. Pleasant on the phone and detail oriented, Kristen’s background in banking and insurance provide us the support in house that our clients can depend on.

Professional Certifications and Accreditations Include:

  • State of Michigan Licensed Builder
  • State of Michigan Asbestos Inspector
  • Certified Mold Inspector and Remediator (National Association of Mold Professionals)
  • Macomb County Certified Septic and Wall Evaluator
  • HUD Inspector & 203-K Consultant
  • Health and Safety Technician (Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration)
  • Level 1 Thermographers

Membership and Affiliations Include:

  • American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI)
  • International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI)
  • City of St. Clair Shores Water Resources Board Committee
  • Women’s Council of Realtors – Affiliate
  • Grosse Pointe Board of Realtors – Affiliate
  • Greater Metropolitan Association of Realtors – Affiliate

Education and Fraternal Organization Memberships Include:

  • Lake Superior State University
  • Delta Sigma Phi (President, Zetta Tau Alumni Chapter)
  • Delta Sigma Phi (Trustee, Alumni Corporation Board)
  • Fraternal Order of Moose International
  • Jefferson Yacht Club – Board of Directors

Our Reviews

Kyle M. Avatar
Kyle M.
3/23/2021 - Google

Had Benny inspect a house I was purchasing. Very thorough and walked me through everything he was doing and everything that they look for in a house. Shared a lot of knowledge of what to expect with houses of that age, type, and area, and told me what I should be concerned about and what isn't as concerning. Even shared a few DIY tips on how to fix things like a small crack in the ceiling. Knowledgeable on all the codes and what needed to be updated in order to be in compliance with local codes. Would recommend.

Zack K. Avatar
Zack K.
3/23/2021 - Google

Kevin Scanlan was my inspector for my new home along with DeAndre Montgomery. They were thorough, knowledgeable, and had all the tools necessary to check everything I could think of and more. Kevin didn't sugarcoat anything and left me with a lot of tips to fix the various problems throughout the house. Highly recommend them to anyone looking for a good inspector.

Josef L. Avatar
Josef L.
3/02/2021 - Google

We used Kevin S. and his assistant for our home inspection. They both were fantastic. Thorough and answered all of our questions. We also had radon testing that was completed with full details. Highly reccomend.

Brenden M. Avatar
Brenden M.
2/23/2021 - Google

Chris was great! Very thorough in the process and was able to clearly communicate anything that had any degree of concern.

christopher h. Avatar
christopher h.
2/23/2021 - Google

Kevin did the inspection on a home I’m buying and he was very knowledgeable, thorough, and professional. I would recommend Kevin to anyone needing a home inspection.

Radio B. Avatar
Radio B.
2/23/2021 - Google

Benny was very thorough, and took the time to explain how to take care of each item, where all the major shutoffs and breakers are in the home, and made sure we understood how to proceed with repairs. I learned a lot from the experience, and that is valuable to me.

christopher h. Avatar
christopher h.
2/04/2021 - Google

Kevin did the inspection on a home I’m buying and he was very knowledgeable, thorough, and professional. I would recommend Kevin to anyone needing a home inspection.

Brenden M. Avatar
Brenden M.
1/28/2021 - Google

Chris was great! Very thorough in the process and was able to clearly communicate anything that had any degree of concern.

Deborah H. Avatar
Deborah H.
12/23/2020 - Google

Kevin Scanlan was amazing. He was very professional, patience and knowledgeable. He was also very thorough. My husband and I was very impressed. Wound recommend their services.

Deborah H. Avatar
Deborah H.
12/18/2020 - Google

Kevin Scanlan was amazing. He was very professional, patience and knowledgeable. He was also very thorough. My husband and I was very impressed. Wound recommend their services.

Alex V. Avatar
Alex V.
11/23/2020 - Google

I had Home Inspection Professionals inspect a house before I bought it. Chris did the inspecting and was very friendly, thorough, and patient with explaining things. As a first-time home buyer I had a lot of questions, but Chris did a great job helping me understand everything. He provided me with a very detailed report via email, including pictures, which I received within just a few hours of the inspection. I also had Kyle come out and do a sewer scope because there are a lot of trees around the house. Again, very thorough and professional. When he tried to scope it, he said I needed to have the sewer line cleaned out first because there was a blockage. Kyle took the time to explain the everything on the phone to my dad, in addition to providing me with a detailed email with his observations. Home Inspection Professionals gave me a list of recommended plumbing companies to clean out the line for me, and then Kyle came back and finished the job. I learned a lot about my house from this company and would recommend them to anyone!

Dan S. Avatar
Dan S.
11/23/2020 - Google

Kevin was pleasant, thorough and professional, presenting me with good tips for current and future maintenance as we went through every room of our new purchase during the home inspection.

Justin R. Avatar
Justin R.
11/23/2020 - Google

Kevin was my inspector (HIGHLY recommend him). He was incredibly professional, and VERY thorough. (He even showed up 30 minutes early!) At the same time, he was helpful in helping me see what would be required from a maintenance standpoint, as well as things that were troublesome. At the end of the day, I feel very comfortable with what I was given, and what I learned about the home. I highly recommend using this company, and especially would recommend asking for Kevin, if you can!

Alex V. Avatar
Alex V.
11/18/2020 - Google

I had Home Inspection Professionals inspect a house before I bought it. Chris did the inspecting and was very friendly, thorough, and patient with explaining things. As a first-time home buyer I had a lot of questions, but Chris did a great job helping me understand everything. He provided me with a very detailed report via email, including pictures, which I received within just a few hours of the inspection. I also had Kyle come out and do a sewer scope because there are a lot of trees around the house. Again, very thorough and professional. When he tried to scope it, he said I needed to have the sewer line cleaned out first because there was a blockage. Kyle took the time to explain the everything on the phone to my dad, in addition to providing me with a detailed email with his observations. Home Inspection Professionals gave me a list of recommended plumbing companies to clean out the line for me, and then Kyle came back and finished the job. I learned a lot about my house from this company and would recommend them to anyone!

Dan S. Avatar
Dan S.
11/18/2020 - Google

Kevin was pleasant, thorough and professional, presenting me with good tips for current and future maintenance as we went through every room of our new purchase during the home inspection.